Skip Navigation
X
Search Catalog Search Website
About

Learn About the Library

The Library The People The History

Location

20 E Maple Street

Hinsdale, IL 60521

Hours

  • Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 7:00 pm
  • Friday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Saturday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Sunday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Holiday Closings

  • New Year’s Day Friday 1/1/21
  • Easter Sunday 4/4/21
  • Memorial Day Sunday 5/30/21
  • Memorial Day Monday 5/31/21
  • Independence Day Sunday 7/4/21
  • Independence Day Observed Monday 7/5/21
  • Labor Day Sunday 9/5/21
  • Labor Day Monday 9/6/21
  • Thanksgiving Wednesday 11/24/21 (5 PM Closing)
  • Thanksgiving Day Thursday 11/25/21
  • Christmas Eve Friday 12/24/21
  • Christmas Day Saturday 12/25/21
  • New Year’s Eve Friday 12/31/21 (1 PM Closing)
  • New Year's Day Saturday 1/1/22

The People

Alice Kuhn

Youth & Young Adult Services Assistant Manager

akuhn@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

YS/YA Program Coordinator, Readers’ Advisory, 1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Anne Grisenthwaite

Youth Services Librarian

agrisenthwaite@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Preschool Outreach, HPL Parent Connection

Caitlin Atkinson

Youth Services Assistant

catkinson@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and projects:

Teen programs, Great New Reads, Young Adult reader’s advisory

Ellen Smith

Building and Acquisitions Manager

esmith@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Managing Memorial Donations, Building Maintenance and Operations

Emily Borsa

Adult Services Librarian

eborsa@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

NovelTea, Adult Summer Reading Club, book group coordination, ebooks

Jennifer Susina

Youth Services Librarian

jsusina@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Middle School Outreach, Teen Volunteer Program, Great New Reads

Karen Kleckner Keefe

Executive Director

kkeefe@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Karen with questions or concerns about the following:

Library Governance, Library Policies, Library Board of Trustees, Planned Giving, Library Art Program

Katie Cangelosi

Collection Services Manager

kcangelosi@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects: Donations & Book Sale, Materials Processing and Shelving

Lizzy Boden

Adult Services Manager

lboden@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Lizzy with questions or concerns about the following:

Books, movies, and music for adults, Services, programs and outreach for adults, Digital Media Lab

Martha Kennedy

Patron Services Manager

mkennedy@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Martha with questions or concerns about the following:

Billing, Interlibrary Loan, Home Delivery Services

 

Maura Schoo

Adult Services Librarian

mschoo@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

NovelTea, Summer Reading Club, Crafternoon, Next Chapter Book Club, Business & Career E-Newsletter

Meghan Hall

Adult Services Librarian

mhall@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Library Edition Book Group, Biography collection and eNewsletter

Mike Oetting

Adult Services Librarian

moetting@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Tech Talk Live, Elite Eats, Voyagers Travel Discussion Club, technology programming, 3-D Printing

Molly Castor

Marketing, Outreach, & Data Manager

mcastor@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Molly with questions or concerns about the following:

Press Requests, Displaying or Distributing Materials at the Library

Nancy Marvan

Office Manager

nmarvan@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Coordinating the public’s use of Library Meeting Rooms

Accounts Payable

Ridgeway Burns

Youth & Young Adult Services Manager
Assistant Director

rburns@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Ridgeway with questions or concerns about the following:

Books, movies, and music for youth and teens, Services and outreach for youth and teens

Robert Bell

IT Manager

rbell@hinsdalelibrary.info

 

Susan McBride

Adult Services Assistant

smcbride@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and projects:

Next Chapter Programs, ACT/SAT tests, programs for parents

The History

The Hinsdale Public Library’s dynamic future is a reflection of its long and active history. The Hinsdale Public Library and its predecessor, the Hinsdale Library Association, have been providing service to Hinsdale residents since 1887.

Hinsdale Library Association: The Hinsdale Library Association was incorporated in 1887 and had 150 paying members and 150 volumes. During the library association’s lifetime (1887-1893) it was housed in various commercial buildings and moved three times.

Hinsdale Public Library: The tax-supported Hinsdale Public Library was created in 1893. Absorbing the collection, assets, and staff of the Library Association, the Public Library opened in August 1893. The Public Library continued the nomadic experience of the Library Association, sharing space with various businesses and relocating six times between 1893 and 1929. The completion of the Memorial Building in 1929 gave the Hinsdale Public Library its first permanent home. (Bakken, 107-8 )

Through the next few decades, the library continued its vital and vigorous growth, causing it to outgrow its space. D.K. Pearsons, one of the directors of the Library Association, donated his home and a portion of his estate to the library, which funded the 1957 addition to the library. (Dugan, 142) The former Pearsons Wing is now home to the Village of Hinsdale offices.

The library again found itself in tight quarters and in need of expansion. In 1988 another addition, on the west side of the Memorial Building, was constructed and the library and the village swapped office spaces in the Memorial Building.

Overall, in its 120-year history the library (Hinsdale Library Association and the Hinsdale Public Library) has moved 11 times, suvived fires, and built two additions. (Bakken,107-8) (Dugan, 176)

Photo of Hinsdale
Library, 1952