Skip Navigation
X
Search Catalog Search Website
About

Learn About the Library

The Library The People The History

Location

20 E Maple Street

Hinsdale, IL 60521

Hours

  • Monday - Thursday 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
  • Friday 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
  • Saturday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  • Sunday 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Holiday Closings

  • New Year’s Day Sunday 1-1-17
  • Easter Sunday, 4-16-17
  • Memorial Day Sunday, 5-28-17
  • Memorial Day Monday, 5-29-17
  • Independence Day Tuesday, 7-4-17
  • Labor Day Sunday, 9-3-17
  • Labor Day Monday, 9-4-17
  • Thanksgiving Wednesday, 11-22-17 (5 PM Closing)
  • Thanksgiving Day Thursday, 11-23-17
  • Christmas Eve Sunday, 12-24-17
  • Christmas Day Monday, 12-25-17
  • New Year’s Eve Sunday, 12-31-17

The People

Alice Kuhn

Youth & Young Adult Services Assistant Manager

akuhn@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

YS/YA Program Coordinator, Readers’ Advisory, 1000 Books Before Kindergarten

Anne Grisenthwaite

Youth Services Librarian

agrisenthwaite@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Preschool Outreach, HPL Parent Connection

Cynthia Dieden

Adult Services Manager

cdieden@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Cynthia with questions or concerns about the following:

Books, Movies, and Music for adults, Services, Programs and Outreach for Adults, Digital Media Lab

Ellen Smith

Materials Management Manager

esmith@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Managing Memorial Donations, Building Maintenance and Operations

Emily Borsa

Adult Services Librarian

eborsa@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

NovelTea, Adult Summer Reading Club

Jeff Lewandowski

IT Manager

jlewandowski@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Managing the Library’s Website, Maintaining Technology Infrastructure

Jo Ann Schusterich

Adult Services Librarian

jschusterich@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Book Clubs

Great Decisions

Karen Kleckner Keefe

Executive Director

kkeefe@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Karen with questions or concerns about the following:

Library Governance, Library Policies, Library Board of Trustees, Planned Giving, Library Art Program

Lisa Knasiak

Patron Services Manager & Assistant Director

lknasiak@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Lisa with questions or concerns about the following:

Billing, Interlibrary Loan, Home Delivery Services

Martha Kennedy

Patron Services Assistant Manager

mkennedy@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Home Delivery Services, Interlibrary Loan

Maura Schoo

Adult Services Librarian

mschoo@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Cookbook club, NovelTea, Summer Reading Club, Business & Career E-Newsletter, Focus on Print E-Newsletter

Melisa Martinez

Youth and Young Adult Librarian

mmartinez@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Middle School Outreach, Teen Volunteer Program

Mike Oetting

Adult Services Librarian

moetting@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Tech Talk Live, Elite Eats, Voyagers Travel Discussion Club

Molly Castor

Marketing & Outreach Manager

mcastor@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Molly with questions or concerns about the following:

Press Requests, Displaying or Distributing Materials at the Library

Nancy Marvan

Office Manager

nmarvan@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

Coordinating the public’s use of Library Meeting Rooms

Accounts Payable

Patty Lawley

Youth Services Librarian

plawley@hinsdalelibrary.info

Interests and Projects:

School Reading Lists, Graphic Novels, Elementary School Outreach, Textbooks, School Visits

Ridgeway Burns

Youth & Young Adult Services Manager

rburns@hinsdalelibrary.info

Contact Ridgeway with questions or concerns about the following:

Books, movies, and music for youth and teens, Services and outreach for youth and teens

The History

The Hinsdale Public Library’s dynamic future is a reflection of its long and active history. The Hinsdale Public Library and its predecessor, the Hinsdale Library Association, have been providing service to Hinsdale residents since 1886.

Hinsdale Library Association: The Hinsdale Library Association was incorporated in 1886 and had 150 paying members and 150 volumes. During the library association’s lifetime (1886-1893) it was housed in various commercial buildings and moved three times.

Hinsdale Public Library: The tax-supported Hinsdale Public Library was created in 1893. Absorbing the collection, assets, and staff of the Library Association, the Public Library opened in August 1893. The Public Library continued the nomadic experience of the Library Association, sharing space with various businesses and relocating six times between 1893 and 1929. The completion of the Memorial Building in 1929 gave the Hinsdale Public Library its first permanent home. (Bakken, 107-8 )

Through the next few decades, the library continued its vital and vigorous growth, causing it to outgrow its space. D.K. Pearson, one of the directors of the Library Association, donated his home and a portion of his estate to the library, which funded the 1957 addition to the library. (Dugan, 142) The former Pearson Addition is now home to the Village of Hinsdale offices.

The library again found itself in tight quarters and in need of expansion. In the 1988 another addition, on the west side of the Memorial Building, was constructed and the library and the village swapped office spaces in the Memorial Building.

Overall, in its 120-year history the library (Hinsdale Library Association and the Hinsdale Public Library) has moved 11 times, suvived fires, and built two additions. (Bakken,107-8) (Dugan, 176)

Photo of Hinsdale
Library, 1952